RSS

My Marathon for God’s Glory Begins Today

10 Jan

It’s a new year, and boy, is it going to be one of change. I am re-opening my blog as a journal for my new journey…A Marathon.

My husband ran his first marathon last fall and secretly I was yearning to do it. I’m not a runner. I am fit, I teach dance and stay active, but a marathon is WAY outside my comfort zone. On the way home from the marathon last fall Jeff looked over and asked me, “So, when is your marathon?” Mine? Well, I wasn’t ready to admit it, but that was in my head. I later told him that I was thinking about it. And I even bought a new pair of shoes last week. It kind of felt like a commitment, but I was still unsure of my final decision. Until yesterday.

I taught Sunday School yesterday and in my 4th/5th grade class, we discussed God’s greatest command proclaimed in Mark 12:30

Love the lord your god with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.

Then, in church service, up pops that verse, one more time. “Cool!” I thought. “We just talked about that. I think it’s really cool when Sunday School and the sermon work together.” That evening, we got together with a few other couples for a bible study session. We discussed the beginning of the book Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper. It was really inspiring, then before we left, the group leader read from the study guide Mark 12:30. Then I thought, “Again?! Are you trying to tell me something God?” I’ve got a thick scull, but it seems to me that God may me trying to tell me something.

Yesterday evening, around bed time, my husband and I were talking about what the next big adventure will be for him. It has to be bigger and better than before, and I try to be supportive. But, inside, I’m getting tired of always being the person to support his adventures, and being left behind. I felt like God was trying to shake me up, and lead me somewhere. When I told Jeff that I was going to change how I was going to approach the marathon, I felt a surge of excitement. I told Jeff that I was going to find a way to run the marathon to glorify God. I can’t do it without Him. I have to bring God right along with me the entire way, and He’s going to have to give me the strength to do this. I challenged my husband to approach his next big adventure the same way. “How about you find something that glorifies God, and with a new mindset to do it for Him, instead of for you? You have this amazing drive, that God gave you, think about what you can do it you do this for Him!”

We talked about it for a while last night, and I did not expect our discussion to go in the direction it did. Jeff soon asked me what I want from him for MY marathon. Do I want him to 1. Step back and stay out of the way, 2. Run short runs together, but stay out of the way on long runs and marathon day, or 3. Run at my pace and be by my side the entire time, training and running the marathon? I was speechless. It took me a few moments to get up the courage to admit that I needed him, and want him there the entire time. When I told him, he didn’t hesitate. He’s there with me. So, it’s decided, I’m running a marathon with my two favorite men: God and Jeff.

I want to be able to look back at these next few months and see how God has moved me. I’m hoping for BIG movement!! I’m praying for lots of help, and strength. I got to searching through my bible for scripture to help me through the training and marathon and I found this one:

Hebrews 12:1-3
Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

And, so off I go, Twin Cities Marathon on October 2nd, 2011. Lord, help me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
